ASIA PACIFIC. The Asia Pacific Travel Retail Association (APTRA) has opened registration for the first APTRA KPMG Insights Seminar of the autumn series.

The seminar will take place from 4pm to 5.30pm on 27 November at the KPMG office at Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, and is open to APTRA members. It will be followed by a cocktail reception.

The APTRA KPMG Insights Seminar autumn series attracted almost 400 people in 2017.

After a welcome from APTRA President Andrew Ford, m1nd-set Senior Project Manager Maria Villanueva will present highlights of the latest APTRA m1nd-set research studies.

This research assesses the shopping behaviour of travellers at major airport hubs in Asia Pacific, including top categories visited and purchased, barriers to shopping, shoppers’ internet usage and behaviour at the airport.

KPMG China Head of Consumer Markets, ASPAC Anson Bailey will then discuss the latest disruptive technology in retail and its potential impact on the duty free and travel retail industry in the Asia Pacific region.

Almost 400 people attended the APTRA KPMG Insights Seminar autumn series last year. Applications for places at the Hong Kong event should be addressed to Sharolyn at The venue for the seminar will be KPMG, 23/F Hysan Place, 500 Hennessy Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.

Details of APTRA KPMG Insights Seminars at other locations will be released in the coming weeks.

Board appointments

New appointment: Stéphane Geffroy.

APTRA also announced that Kansai Airports’ Stéphane Geffroy has been appointed to the Board of Management for the remaining term until elections take place at the Annual General Meeting in May 2019.

APTRA also welcomed Imperial Tobacco’s Tobias Baude to the Board. Dr Jennifer Cords stepped down from her role as APTRA Board Member and Secretary in July following her resignation from Imperial Tobacco.

At the APTRA Board Meeting in Cannes on 3 October, Rémy Cointreau’s Ryan Hill was elected Secretary in her place.

Earlier this year APTRA saw the departures of long-serving Board Member and Treasurer Tony Detter of Inflight Sales Group and former President Jaya Singh of Mondelez, whose career moves necessitated their resignations.

“We are delighted that Stéphane and Tobias have agreed to join the APTRA Board to share with us their insight and experience of duty free and travel retail in our industry’s largest market,” said APTRA President Andrew Ford. “We are grateful to Ryan, who has served on the Board for several years, for taking on the role of Secretary.

“I would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to Jaya, Tony and Jennifer who have, for so many years, worked tirelessly to protect and develop the industry they love in our region. They have been, without exception, a pleasure to work with and I thank them on behalf of the association and the industry in Asia Pacific.”